Resumes: A Modern Day Parable (5)

There once were two men, one rich and one poor.

They both applied for a job to work a city planner.  The city planner was in charge of overseeing new building projects for the city and for making sure the city parks and city hall ran smoothly.

They both turned their resumes into the mayor.  After a long deliberation, the man called the rich man into his office.

“Your resume was quite good,” he said.  “In fact, this is best resume I have ever seen.”

“Thank you, sir,” he said. “I would be honored to take the job as city planner.”

“Oh,” he said. “I am not hiring you.”

“You aren’t?” he asked surprised.

“No. You’re not qualified.”

“Not qualified?  I have a masters degree in business organization from Harvard University.  I have five years experience from working in Baltimore as a city planner!  I created some of the most well run machines in city hall and some of the most beautiful parks are maintained there.”

“I know,” the mayor said. “I read your resume.”

The rich man left the room angered.

Next the mayor called in the poor man.

“I have read your resume,” the mayor said. “You have no experience with any kind of city planning in the past.  You dropped out of college, and you work as a trashman.  Is this correct?”

“Yes,” the poor man said sheepishly.

“What made you apply for this job? What make you think  I would even consider you?”

“Sir,” he said. “I know my resume is meager, but I live in one of the poorest neighborhoods in this city and the people in my neighborhood are starving, many go without food.  I know that the job of the city planner is to oversee new building projects, and I thought we might clean up these neighborhoods.  I know I am poor, but I know all these people.  I know what they need.”

“And that is exactly why I am going to hire you,” the mayor said.

Leave a Reply

